Sometimes, a job you already monitor has more than one backup. This can happen when a unique identifier changes and Backup Radar creates a new backup record instead of adding the result to the existing one. For more details, see About unique identifiers for backups. Use Merge Backup to add the historical data from the original backup to the main backup.
You can start a merge from the Audit page, Edit Backups page, or Retired Backups page. Follow the same steps from any of these pages.
|
Who can use this feature? • Administrator users. • Standard users (who have been granted access). |
Note: Merging adds the original backup’s historical data to the main backup. You can’t undo this data transfer. When the merge is complete, the original backup is retired. You can reactivate a retired backup, but reactivating it doesn’t undo the historical data added to the main backup.
Merge backups
Select the backup or backups you want to merge. Leave the main backup unchecked, then click Merge.
Select the main backup—the backup you want to merge the selected backup into—and click Merge Into....
Confirm the merge details and click Merge. If you’ve made a mistake, click Cancel Merging instead.
Wait for the merge to finish. A green success message indicates that the merge has started and may take a few minutes.
After the merge
The original backup(s) you merged into the main backup is automatically retired. To find it, go to Backups > Retire. The retired backup includes the note “Backup merge successful.”
You can reactivate a retired backup. For instructions, see Reactivating your Retired Backups. Reactivating the backup doesn’t undo the historical data already added to the main backup.
| ✉️ Any questions? Reach out to our friendly, neighborhood support team by submitting a support ticket. |
| 🎙️ Interested in attending a live Q&A session with our Product Adoption team? Sign up to attend Backup Radar Office Hours and get real-time answers to your questions. |