Creating a New User

Olivia McCormack
Olivia McCormack
  • Updated

Hello! In this article, we'll walk through the steps for creating a new user in Backup Radar.

Who can use this feature?
 • Administrator users.

There are three Backup Radar user types: Administrator, Standard, and Client.

To learn the full details of user type permissions, see Understanding User Types.

Administrators: You can add new users by following the steps below in your Backup Radar account:

  1. Click Settings > User Management.
    Settings > User Management.png

  2. Click the Create User button.
    Click Create User.png

  3. Choose the user type you'd like to create (Standard, Administrator, or Client) and click Continue.
    Note: While Administrator users can be converted to Standard users (and vice versa) later by editing the user type, Client users cannot be converted to Administrator or Standard users.
    Choose User Type.png

Creating an Administrator User

Creating an Administrator User

  1. Enter the following user information and click Save:
    Create Administrator.png

    a. Username (beginning part of the email address before the @ symbol).
    b. Select the email domain from the Domain drop-down menu.
       • If you don't see your desired domain in the drop-down, see Working with Email Domains for instructions on editing the primary and secondary email domains assigned to your Backup Radar account.
    c. Password: The user will use this password to initially log in. They can change their password later.
    d. First Name and Last Name for your new user. They can change their first and last name later.

  2. You're done! An invitation will be send to the user's email address, and they'll be able to log in from there.

Creating a Standard User

Creating a Standard User

  1. Enter the following user information:

    Create Standard User.png


    a. Username (beginning part of the email address before the @ symbol).
    b. Select the email domain from the Domain drop-down menu.
       • If you don't see your desired domain in the drop-down, see Working with Email Domains for instructions on editing the primary and secondary email domains assigned to your Backup Radar account.
    c. Password: The user will use this password to initially log in. They can change their password later.
    d. First Name and Last Name for your new user. They can change their first and last name later.

  2. Standard User Groups: By default, Standard users will be assigned to the Standard Group (default) user group.

    If you have created at least one additional user group and would like to assign one or more of them to this user, check the boxes for the user group(s) you'd like to assign to this user. Selected groups will be displayed under the user group(s) selected heading.
    Adjust User Groups.png
  3. Company Restricted Groups: By default, Standard users will be able to access all company backup results unless they are assigned to a company restricted group. For more information on creating company restricted groups, see Company Restrictions.

    If you have created a company restricted group and you would like to apply a restriction on which companies this user can access in Backup Radar, check the box(es) for the company restricted group(s) you'd like to assign to this user. Selected groups will be displayed under the company restricted groups selected heading.

    Note: You can access a shortcut for creating a new company restricted group by clicking New Group on this screen.
    Adjust Company Restricted Groups.png
  4. Click Save, and you're done! An invitation will be send to the user's email address, and they'll be able to log in from there.

Creating a Client User

Creating a Client User

  1. Enter the following user information:
    Create Client User.png
    a. Email Address.
    b. Password: The user will use this password to initially log in. They can change their password later.
    c. First Name and Last Name for your new user. They can change their first and last name later.

  2. Client User Groups: By default, Client users will be assigned to the Client Group (default) user group.

    If you have created at least one additional user group and would like to assign one or more of them to this user, check the boxes for the user group(s) you'd like to assign to this user. Selected groups will be displayed under the user group(s) selected heading.
    Adjust User Groups (Client Users).png
  3. Company Access: By default, Client users will have no company access.

    If you would like to grant company access to this Client user, type or select the company name from the Select Company field and click Add. When company access has successfully been added, the company name will appear underneath the Select Company field with a trash icon next to it.
    Adjust Company Access.png
  4. Click Save, and you're done! An invitation will be send to the user's email address, and they'll be able to log in from there.

 

Any questions? Reach out to our friendly, neighborhood support team by submitting a support ticket.

Was this article helpful?

2 out of 2 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request